Ian RankinWelcome to Rebus's world! This is the official site for the Rebus novels and their author. Hopefully, I'll be able to keep you up to date with all things Rebus, as well as saying something about ongoing and future projects. I know that when I wrote The Falls, I brought in the internet as a plot-device in the full and certain knowledge that it was, and would forever remain, beyond Rebus's ken. This gave me a chance to let Siobhan prove herself every bit as good a detective as her colleague. I have to admit that despite being more Siobhan's age than Rebus's, I'm a bit of a dinosaur when it comes to the virtual world, but I promise that I'll do my best to inform and entertain... Just as soon as I get back from the Oxford Bar.


Ian Rankin


Born in the Kingdom of Fife in 1960, Ian Rankin graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 1982, and then spent three years writing novels when he was supposed to be working towards a PhD in Scottish Literature. His first Rebus novel was published in 1987, and the Rebus books are now translated into twenty-two languages and are bestsellers on several continents.

Ian Rankin has been elected a Hawthornden Fellow, and is also a past winner of the Chandler-Fulbright Award. He is the recipient of four Crime Writers' Association Dagger Awards including the prestigious Diamond Dagger in 2005. In 2004, Ian won America's celebrated Edgar Award for 'Resurrection Men'. He has also been shortlisted for the Edgar and Anthony Awards in the USA, and won Denmark's Palle Rosenkrantz Prize, the French Grand Prix du Roman Noir and the Deutscher Krimipreis.

Ian Rankin is also the recipient of honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews and Edinburgh.

A contributor to BBC2's 'Newsnight Review', he also presented his own TV series, 'Ian Rankin's Evil Thoughts'. He recently received the OBE for services to literature, opting to receive the prize in his home city of Edinburgh, where he lives with his partner and two sons.


Rebus's Edinburgh

Rebus Quiz

Creating Rebus

Rebus Playlist
Orion Publishing Group
web agency London : pedalo limited
© Orion publishing group 2011