Inspector Rebus novels


The Rebus novels have been universally praised for the strength of characterisation, particularly the figure of Rebus himself who has been described as 'the most compelling mind in modern crime fiction' (Independent) and 'a masterful creation' (Observer); and for the gritty realisation of Edinburgh, the dark heart of contemporary Scotland which lurks behind the elegant and historic buildings of the tourist trail.

In this section, you can take a look around the Edinburgh of Inspector Rebus - the Oxford Bar, St Leonard's Police Station and some of the crime scenes he has visited - with a specially created interactive map. Find out more about some of the novels' characters (although there's no substitute for reading the real thing - check out the links page to find out some places you can order Ian Rankin novels on-line) or the background behind the successful television adaptation of Rebus.

The books

Exit Music by Ian Rankin   The Naming of the Dead by Ian Rankin   Fleshmarket Close by Ian Rankin   A Question of Blood by Ian Rankin
Resurrection Men by Ian Rankin   The Falls by Ian Rankin   Set in Darkness by Ian Rankin   Dead Souls by Ian Rankin
The Hanging Garden by Ian Rankin        Black and Blue by Ian Rankin        Let it Bleed by Ian Rankin        Mortal Causes by Ian Rankin
The Black Book by Ian Rankin   Strip Jack by Ian Rankin   A Good Hanging by Ian Rankin   Tooth and Nail by Ian Rankin
Hide & Seek by Ian Rankin   Knots and Crosses by Ian Rankin   Knots & Crosses collectors edition by Ian Rankin   Rebus's Scotland by Ian Rankin

back to the top


Rebus's Edinburgh

Rebus Quiz

Creating Rebus

Rebus Playlist
Orion Publishing Group
web agency London : pedalo limited
© Orion publishing group 2011