Where to Start Reading Rankin

If you are new to Ian's books, we have picked a few to start with

Starting to read books by an author with a large backlist can be daunting. Where do you start? If you are new to Ian Rankin’s work, you are in for a treat, and we hope the following tips on great books to begin with will help:

Knots & Crosses: the First Rebus novel

In Knots & Crosses, we meet the iconic Edinburgh detective for the very first time. Detective Sergeant John Rebus, smoking and drinking too much, is one of many policemen hunting a serial killer on the streets of Edinburgh.

Find out more about Knots & Crosses

Black and Blue: the Gold Dagger winner

Winning the CWA Gold Dagger in 1997, Black and Blue was the 8th Rebus novel and cemented Ian Rankin’s place in crime fiction history.

Find out more about Black and Blue


The Complaints  – the first Malcolm Fox novel

Meet Malcolm Fox, from the Complaints and Conduct Department. Nobody likes The Complaints – they’re the cops who investigate other cops.  And this can prove dangerous, especially when a vicious murder intervenes far too close to home for Fox’s liking.

Find out more about The Complaints.


The Saints of the Shadow Bible – The most recent Rebus novel

John Rebus is back on the force, albeit with a big demotion and an even larger chip on his shoulder. A new law has been passed allowing the Scottish police to re-prosecute old crimes and a thirty-year-old case is being reopened, with Rebus and his team from back then suspected of corruption and worse.

Find out more about Saints of the Shadow Bible


Even Dogs in the Wild – the New Rebus novel COMING SOON

Published on 5th November, Even Dogs in the Wild brings Rebus, Clarke and Fox together to investigate murder on the streets of Edinburgh in a story exploring the darkest corners of our instincts and desires.

Find out more about Even Dogs in the Wild